Campaigner Reviews: The Lowest Email Marketing Entry Price

How do we keep this site running? This post may contain affiliate links — the cost is the same to you, but we get a referral fee. Compensation does not affect rankings. Thanks!

Campaigner reviewNew to the whole email marketing world? Campaigner may be your best bet. Don’t let the sophisticated features keep you away. Campaigner has excellent training and tutorials for beginners and easy-to-use tools to guide you along all of its features. And if you’re already experienced or need more advanced email marketing tools, Campaigner has you covered. So much so, we’ve ranked Campaigner our 2nd Best Email Marketing Service Provider this year.

Visit Campaigner’s Website

Review Overview

Customer Service & Reputation
Pricing Template Selection
Social Media Marketing
Autoresponder
List Segmentation
Spam Score

4.13/5

Campaigner is our #2 pick for email marketing due to their exceptional customer service, variety of features and some of the lowest prices available. Their lack of a spam checker is a common feature that is missed.

Key Features

  • Customer service 24/7
  • List segmentation and management
  • Social media integration with Facebook and Twitter
  • Autoresponder
  • ROI reporting
  • Mobile app (iOS devices only)
  • A/B split testing
  • Image hosting

Contactology Is Now Campaigner

Campaigner acquired Contactology in 2014. This was j2 Global’s first acquisition in the email marketing field since they first purchased Campaigner in 2010. j2 Global migrated Contactology customers to Campaigner.

Pros

Cons

  • Excellent customer service reputation with little to no wait times
  • Large number of customizable email newsletter templates
  • A solid and flexible newsletter template editor
  • Fast sending of email newsletters (a couple of minutes)
  • Contact manager that lets you import your contacts from popular email providers
  • Automatically removes unsubscribes and bounces
  • Reports best performing links, click trends, heat maps, workflows & more
  • API integration into existing data systems
  • Trigger campaigns based on specific dates, times, events, form submissions, etc.
  • SMTP Relay ensures transactional emails get delivered to customers’ inboxes
  • Automated opt in/opt out
  • Provides high volume contact options for larger businesses
  • Excellent resource center with video tutorials, webinars and email marketing-how-to brochures
  • RSS feed integration
  • No internal support for surveys or event marketing features
  • Spam checking is very limited; no spam score tool
  • Advanced features can get costly
  • Doesn’t offer nearly as many app/software integration choices as other top services
  • Must pay extra for dynamic content in emails
  • Google Analytics isn’t fully integrated
  • No Android app
  • Credit card required for free trial
  • Must have a plan that allows more than 15,000 contacts to remove Campaigner logo from emails

Pricing

Pricing for Campaigner is on a per month basis, based on your number of contacts. All of these plans, however, allow for unlimited number of emails sent. Campaigner does offer a 30-day free trial.

Number of ContactsPrice Per Month
0-1,000$19.95
1,001-3,500$29.95
3,501-5,000$49.95
5,001-10,000$79.95
10,001-15,000$99.95
15,001-25,000$149.95**
25,001-50,000$299.95**
50,001-100,000$549.95†
Over 100,000Call or request a quote online

** With the purchase of either of these higher end plans, you get some of Campaigner’s more advanced features included in the price: Custom footer, 1GB CDN media hosting, suppressor list, projects and more.
† And with the purchase of the “Up to 100,000” monthly plan you get even more features: Workflows, APIs, static segment sampling, dynamic content, 3rd party Ad content, delivery support and more.

Coupon

[campaigner-reviews]

How Do Users Rate Campaigner?

One of Campaigner’s major strengths is its 24/7 customer support, which won the industry’s top award for excellent customer service (2015 Gold Stevie Award and 2014 Silver Stevie Award). Despite their accolades, some customers have less than stellar experiences with Campaigner’s customer service. But many users have had a great experience with Campaigner. Here are just a few of the user reviews we’ve gathered.

Positive Reviews

With Campaigner, it’s extremely straightforward to manage contacts and lists. Uploading and moving contacts is intuitive and efficient. The email designer is also fairly easy to use. Compared to other ESPs, Campaigner’s provided a clean HTML conversion code relative to others. – G2Crowd, 9/15/2016

We use Campaigner as a 3rd party application that our clients can use to send newsletters. We have a white label account that we’ve skinned with our logo and color scheme. Not all of our clients use it, as it is a paid feature. It addresses the need for those of our clients who need to send newsletters and eblasts to be able to do so. – Trust Radius 3/14/2017

Negative Reviews

I signed up for the service, purchased the $50, 5,000 contact package, and uploaded about 3,500 contacts that signed up for my email list after checking out on my website. Immediately, my account was restricted for possibly including email addresses that did not voluntarily sign up to be on my list. There was no indication that such a check would take place before purchase. Confused, I decided to play around with the email creation software. The interface was clunky, slow, unresponsive, and unimpressive. It took me about an hour to create a basic email blast. Anyway, I figured that I can’t send my email so I may as well try another service. I signed up for another service and had an email sent to my customers within 30 minutes of sign up. Fast-forward to later that night, and Colin Stacey – a supposed CRM – emails me asking for proof of my contact list and informing me that in the future I will be tasked with proving further proof. This is a huge inconvenience to me, and as. – G2Crowd, 2/9/2017

The site and its reports are easy to use and read. It is the call-in and email customer service that desperately needs help. We get canned, irrelevant replies to any of our inquiries to problems that should not even pop up by using the site. You must email, since their “Chat” option is hardly ever available. Even after sending screenshots and explicitly detailed accounts of problems, their support is still unable to answer simple stuff, like “Why does my contact list not upload?” or “Why won’t my test email go through?” Then, to make matters even worse, Campaigner will inexplicably “lock” your account’s contact list, rendering it unusable until they they get around to resolving this additional problem. I will no longer use Campaigner because all of the time and my client’s time that has been wasted on a simple email blast. – J Yost, Serchen 2/17/2015

A Beginner’s Guide to Email Marketing

Email use among businesses and consumers is growing. The Radicati Group, a technology research firm, predicts the number of business and consumer email users worldwide will increase 12% from 2014 to 2018. Don’t know how or where to start with your email marketing? Campaigner gives you the tools you need to jump-start your email marketing campaign. This is but one of Campaigner’s 35+ video tutorials at your disposal, covering everything from the most basic to its most advanced features.

What Other Email Marketing Providers Are There?

Visit Campaigner’s Website

Want to see how Campaigner stacks up against the competition? Check out our Email Marketing Software Review. You’ll see the pros and cons for each provider as well as their key features. We’ve even made a comparison table to help you see the key differences side by side.

What do you love or hate about Campaigner? If you aren’t a Campaigner user, which email marketing service provider do you use and why?

Sally has coupled her passion for writing with her (slight) obsession for the latest high tech gadgets. While she’s not daydreaming about the beach, she’s taking advantage of all the activities her hometown has to offer in the Blue Ridge foothills.

Leave a Reply

18 Comments on "Campaigner Reviews: The Lowest Email Marketing Entry Price"

avatar
ROC Photographyc
ROC Photographyc

I became a customer a little over 7 months ago. I just started my photography business full-time and was looking for an email service to help grow my list/client base. It was particularly important for me to find an email service that was easy to use. HTML design is not my strong suit so at first I was hesitate to even dive into the world of email marketing but with campaigner the template selection was great and when I wanted something a little more customized I was able to work with them to build the perfect template for my photography business. Since using Campaigner my list size has grown by 46%, I’m able to keep in touch with my clients and send updates and specials with just a few clicks.

Campaigner Email Marketing
Campaigner Email Marketing

Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It means a lot to our staff that you took time out of your day to post a positive review about our platform.

We hope you continue to see success with your email marketing efforts!

If you have any questions or comments do not hesitate to contact us! You can check out our blog as well for weekly email marketing tips and tricks!

-The Campaigner Team

Allison Stone
Allison Stone

I’ve been using Campaigner for a little over 4 weeks and I have to say my experience has been good. The 24 hour support is great, I work long hours and sometimes I do not get to my emails until late at night, having them available anytime really helps when I get in a jam. I would suggest adding more hotel and travel templates but other than that I have to say I have enjoyed using the platform so far!

Campaigner Email Marketing
Campaigner Email Marketing

Hi Allison,
Thanks so much for the review. We are currently working with our design team to create more travel/hotel templates! Thank you for the feedback! Please let us know if you have any questions of suggestions for us in the future, you can email me directly at wendy@campaigner.com.
Have a good day!!!

Wendy
Campaigner Team Marketing

Jus Commune
Jus Commune

Campaigner.com cannot be trusted, plain and simple. The parent company J2 Global is nothing short of a scam and will charge your card time and time again despite requesting to change your account and/or cancel it. Their website is often down or unreachable. Their support staff do not address technical faults, bugs and problems with their website. Our experience with campaigner.com and JS Global has been nothing short of appalling, and we strongly recommend that you avoid camiagner.com and JS Global at all costs.

EmailGuy
EmailGuy

Terrible company – Do not work with them and they will over charge and rip you off even after you cancel!

Campaigner Email Marketing
Campaigner Email Marketing

Hello,

I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had while using our service. I would love for you to give us a chance to change the impression you have of our platform. Feel free to contact me directly at wendy@campaigner.com. I will be more than happy to assist with any issues, comments, or questions you may have.

Wendy
The Campaigner Team

Jjonas808
Jjonas808

6 year power use of Campaigner here.

They suck. And to top it off, they are giving us the run around now that we want to cancel our account.

Worst memories include:
-Failed sends (some taking over 48hrs to get out past scheduled send time)
-Waiting 3+ hours for a TEST to go through!
-Support techs with nasty ATTITUDES…acting like I don’t know what I’m doing when I’ve sent hundreds of campaigns to literally millions of recipients worldwide. Their server/sending troubles would tend to repeat themselves, and they’d act like I messed up my code, even though it was for DUPLICATED resends!
-The imbecilic tech support during evening hours. The guy that basically tells you that the tech support crew the next business day will have to call me back!
-Being unable to even LOGIN to our account for hours due to their server issues!
-Sitting in a chat queue for ~1hr when it says “your position is #1” and “average wait time is 1-3 minutes”

No email marketing platform is perfect…but Campaigner can bite it 😉

Campaigner Email Marketing
Campaigner Email Marketing

Hi There,

I know this reply is late but we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We read with much concern about the unpleasant experiences you encountered while using our platform. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we understand your frustration.

In the last few months our team has worked incredibly hard to fix many of the issues you listed above, including the fail sends and test issues.

We hope that you will reconsider using our platform in the future and give us a chance to change the impression you have. We are always looking to better our platform for our customers so please contact me directly at wendy@campaigner.com if you have any other issues or comments.

-Wendy
Campaigner Email Marketing

FlexPVC
FlexPVC

We can confirm the arrogant and snotty personnel and the over billing of the account by Campaigner. They more than double billed us and refused to credit the funds back to the card and we could only use the credit for future months. When we canceled the account we still had a credit balance and they said they need “approval” to refund us for the unused month from the previous double billing they did. All these complaints seem to follow a common thread. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Also we found their system very slow and buggy (the html editor).

Campaigner Email Marketing
Campaigner Email Marketing

Hello,
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I was very disappointed to read of your experience while using our platform. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity.

Our team appreciates the feedback on the HTML editor. Customer feedback allows us to work together as a team to provide you all with the best service possible.

We hope that you will reconsider using our platform in the future and give us a chance to change the impression you have of us. If you have comments in the future do not hesitate to contact me directly at wendy@campaigner.com.

Wendy
Campaigner Email Marketing

Campaigner is the WORST
Campaigner is the WORST

Campaigner is terrible. Besides that the software has so many glitches and the emails always come out distorted on mobile devices. And out of my 5,000 contacts only 700 received the email. They upgraded my account and began charging me more money each month without my approval. The customer service rep I spoke with was arrogant and not interested at all in helping me when I called. There are much better services out there that have better function and integrity.

A Very Unhappy Former Customer
A Very Unhappy Former Customer

Campaigner took me for nearly $1,000. I thought that my account was closed, but they continued to bill me until they officially closed my account. Beware of their billing strategies!!!

Colleen Mauro
Colleen Mauro

Just had a horrible experience with Campaigner. I wanted only to take a quick look at their templates. They insist that you give them your credit card information before you can do this. I never used their services but they billed me for months. I asked, but they refused, to refund my money. They are the only e-mail marketing company that I am aware of who requires a credit card number to investigate their services. Stay away. There are many other companies who provide great e-mail marketing services who operate with integrity.

a web rocker
a web rocker

Contactology has hobbled together bits and pieces of other software modules to create a thoroughly user-unfriendly experience. For one, if you are actually designing a campaign, you don’t have access to live chat support…you have to go open a new window. I created an email based on their own template, and it did not work in Outlook 2003 and earlier. Of course almost 18% of the public still uses these versions of Outlook. Well, the company’s designers refused to correct the template (seriously), so I had to rebuild everything as html.

Beware the fine print. They told me you could turn an account on and off, and not get billed for the account when it is off, but they didn’t state that you had to turn it off within a certain timeframe, so I got charged for it anyway because I missed the cutoff by a day.

The sales guy is really nice and very smooth. The support staff is great.

free car valuation
free car valuation

Fantastic, I’ve been waiting for someone to post a Contactology review for @#$% knows how long. While there’s a lot of useful information in this review, it would be a heck of a lot easier to visualize if you used tables? Ie. for the pricing – how about putting that in a table? That would be just #$% dandy!

Peace out homies.

Office Manager
Office Manager

Campaigner provides the worst customer service I have seen in a very long time. I am very displeased with the billing as well as with inconsistencies in service. Wish they had a money back guarantee.

Kimberly Alt
Admin
Kimberly Alt

Sorry to hear you’re having problems with Campaigner’s customer service. Check out your other options here https://www.werockyourweb.com/constant-contact-vs-icontact-vs-vertical-response/.

wpDiscuz

Send this to a friend